ABOUT ME

Laurent © Sylvain Gripoix

Laurent de Wilde is a musician, producer, writer and radio host.

Born in 1960 in the United States, his family moves back to France when he's 4, and he studies in Paris all the way up to the Ecole Normale Supérieure, rue d'Ulm, which he joins in 1981.

In 1983, he moves to New York, where he resides for eight years, learning jazz piano. He starts performing professionally at the end of the 80's and records his first albums with Jack DeJohnette, Billy Hart and Eddie Henderson ( Off the boat, 1987, Odd and blue, 1989, Colours of Manhattan, 1990, IDA Records ).

Back in Paris in 1991, he pursues his musical career and is awarded the Prix Django Reinhardt in 1993 for his album Open Changes (1992), still with IDA. He then records two albums for Sony, The back burner (1995) then Spoon-a-rythm (1997) which grants him the Victoire du Jazz in 1998 as the Revelation of the Year.

At the same time, he writes a biography of Thelonious Monk (L'Arpenteur - Gallimard,1996, then Folio, 1998), which is translated in English, Spanish, Italian and is awarded the Prix Charles Delaunay of the Académie du Jazz.

During the 2000's, he immerses himself in electronic music, a musical genre in which he releases six albums (Time 4 change, 2000 and Stories, 2003 for Warner Jazz, Organics, 2004, then PC Pieces, 2007, with Nocturne, Fly, 2010, then Fly Superfly, 2014 with Gazebo).

From then on, Laurent follows simultaneously a wide variety of projects : his own jazz trio (The present, 2006, Nocturne, Over the clouds, 2012, Gazebo), his electronic bands, but also in-depth collaborations with artists such as Jacques Gamblin (Ce que le djazz fait à ma djambe) or Abd Al Malik (Gibraltar), as well as co-writing two documentaries for Arte (Monk, 2010 and Mingus, 2011).

In October 2016, he releases Riddles (Gazebo), a two pianos album with African legend Ray Lema, and publishes with Grasset a succesfull essay on keyboards inventors of the twentieth century, Les Fous du Son (soft cover with Folio in 2019). He also begins broadcasting a weekly radio show for TSF Jazz, Portrait in jazz, where he invites non musician hi -profile personalities to share their personal relationship with jazz music.

In 2017, the centennial of Thelonious Monk's birthday, Laurent puts out his New Monk Trio dedicated to the compositions of the Genius of Modern Music, which receives in 2018 Best French Album Award by the Académie du Jazz. The same year, he is elected Musician of the Year by the Victoires du Jazz, and is awarded the Grand prix Sacem for lifetime achievement.

In addition to his own albums recorded with the Gazebo, Laurent produces on the same label other artists such as Géraldine Laurent (At work, 2015) or Eric Le Lann and Paul Lay (Thanks a million, 2018). Anotherrecording of Géraldine Laurent's is expected to come out in October 2019.

A new electronic album by Laurent is presently in the works, in which he will play Rhodes electric piano, along with a drummer and an electric bassist.

 
 
 
Laurent de Wilde // english version

Navigation

Search engine

ABOUT ME

Biographie (pdf, 68.5 ko)
 
Laurent © Sylvain Gripoix

Laurent de Wilde est musicien, producteur, écrivain et animateur radio.

Né en 1960 aux États-Unis, sa famille s’installe en France en 1964 et il fait ses études à Paris jusqu’à l’École Normale Supérieure de la rue d’Ulm, qu'il intègre en 1981. Il repart en 1983 pour les États-Unis et apprend le piano jazz à New York où il réside durant huit ans.

Il commence à s’y produire professionnellement et, à la fin des années 80, y enregistre ses premiers disques en compagnie de Jack DeJohnette, Billy Hart et Eddie Henderson (Off the boat, 1987, Odd and blue, 1989, Colours of Manhattan, 1990, IDA Records).

De retour à Paris en 1991, il y poursuit sa carrière de musicien et obtient le Prix Django Reinhardt en 1993 pour son album Open Changes (1992), toujours chez IDA. Il enregistre alors deux albums pour Sony, The back burner (1995) puis Spoon-a-rythm (1997) qui lui vaudra l’année suivante les Victoires du Jazz comme révélation de l’année.

Durant cette période, il écrit une biographie de Thelonious Monk parue chez Gallimard en 1996, puis chez Folio en 1998, qui sera traduite en anglais, italien, espagnol et japonais et obtient le Prix Charles Delaunay de l'Académie du Jazz.

Les années 2000 le trouveront en immersion dans l’électronique, mode musical dans lequel il produira six albums (Time 4 change, 2000 et Stories, 2003 pour Warner Jazz, Organics, 2004, puis PC Pieces, 2007, chez Nocturne, Fly, 2010, puis Fly Superfly, 2014 chez Gazebo).

A partir de cette décennie, Laurent mène de front des projets de plus en plus variés : la poursuite de son trio jazz (The present, 2006, Nocturne, Over the clouds, 2012, Gazebo) comme de ses groupes électroniques, mais aussi la collaboration soutenue avec des artistes tels que Jacques Gamblin (Ce que le djazz fait à ma djambe) ou Abd Al Malik (Gibraltar), ou encore la co-réalisation de deux documentaires pour Arte sur Monk (2010) et Mingus (2011).

En octobre 2016 Laurent sort Riddles (Gazebo), un album à deux pianos avec la légende Africaine Ray Lema, et publie la même année chez Grasset un ouvrage remarqué sur la saga des inventeurs de claviers au XXème siècle, Les Fous du Son (ré-édité chez Folio en 2019). Il entame également pour la radio TSF Jazz une série d’émissions hebdomadaires, Portrait in jazz, où il invite des personnalités non musiciennes à parler de leur rapport personnel au jazz.

En 2017, année du centenaire de la naissance de Thelonious Monk, Laurent lance son New Monk Trio dédié aux compositions du génial pianiste et compositeur, qui lui vaut en 2018 le Prix du Meilleur Disque Français de l’Académie du Jazz. Toujours en 2018, il se voit élu Artiste de l’année aux Victoires du Jazz et reçoit le Grand prix Sacem pour l’ensemble de son oeuvre.

Outre ses propres albums enregistrés sur le label Gazebo, Laurent y produit également d’autres artistes comme Géraldine Laurent (At work, 2015) ou Eric Le Lann et Paul Lay (Thanks a million, 2018). Un nouvel album de Géraldine Laurent est à paraître en octobre 2019.

Un nouvel album électronique de Laurent est en préparation, dans lequel il jouera du Rhodes et des machines, accompagné d’un batteur et d’un bassiste électrique.

 
 
 
Laurent de Wilde

Elements de navigation

Moteur de recherche